Revealed

A blog about scientific and medical visualization and all that’s involved.

Mouthwash as Pen Cleaner?

Posted by Janet on January 30, 2008

Pen and ink is one of my favorite media. I love the clean lines you can get with a good technical pen, but cleaning Rapidographs is always such a pain. Typically I just use some rubbing alcohol, but when I have pen emergencies and no rubbing alcohol, I go for the mouthwash. It works, and leaves your pen nibs minty fresh. I started buying different kinds of mouthwash just to see which brand works the best. The usual blue/green ones like Scope and Listerine are ok, but I find that Tom’s of Maine mouthwash (which by the way is alcohol free) was able to remove some old ink residues that even rubbing alcohol can’t remove. It’s also clear so you can see your pens better. Now don’t get your hopes up too much because I have yet to find something that completely removes old ink and leaves those pen nibs and plastic ink cartridges shining flawlessly. I’m curious to see if anyone has tried anything else that works.

One Response to “Mouthwash as Pen Cleaner?”

  1. joshy said

    I use a 50/50 mix of windex and water in a ultrasonic cleaner. Works really well. I’m going to try the mouthwash though, it sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

 
