Revealed

A blog about scientific and medical visualization and all that’s involved.

Molecular Movies

Posted by Janet on February 8, 2008

One of the professors I TA for frequently uses videos and animations in his lectures, which I think is a great way to present dense information to students because it helps them visualize a concept right away and really stresses how dynamic cellular functions are. One of the links he sent me was http://www.molecularmovies.com/index.html. As the name implies, this site contains animations on various topics of molecular and cellular biology. The “showcase” page displays a list of screenshots with a description and a link to the movie. I just watched one about apoptosis by Drew Berry and that just sends chills up my spines. “The Inner Life of the Cell,” which I mentioned in a previous entry, can also be found on this page. In addition to the videos, there is a “learnings” page where you can download tutorials for modeling molecular and cellular structures in 3D softwares (mostly Maya).

2 Responses to “Molecular Movies”

  1. Vanessa said

    What a fantastic resource! And what makes it even better is that most of those animations are actually very good. There’s some good medical animation work coming from the University of Toronto too.

  2. Kimberlee said

    Bravo! I have just begun my quest to become educated in the workings of Maya. Ever so daunting, but seeing postings like these remind me why I want to do it. Thank you and I will post my success stories on where to find Maya resources as it is not as easy as one would hope (nor as cost effective!) UCSC SI Class 2000.

Leave a Reply

 
