Revealed

A blog about scientific and medical visualization and all that’s involved.

The Science Illustrator’s Bible

Posted by Janet on April 7, 2008

Recently I spoke to a few people who are looking into scientific illustration, either as a hobby or as a future career. The biggest problem is getting started–“where can I find more information about being a science illustrator? how would I know if this is really what I want to do? I don’t have the time and money to go back to school–can I teach myself the techniques?” “The Guild Handbook of Scientific Illustrations” is a good place to start. Most science illustrators I know own this book. Put together by the Guild of Natural Science Illustrators, it consists of articles written by experts of the field on various topics, including techniques, details about various subject matters, and business aspects of scientific illustration (sneak a peek on Google Book Search). It also occurred to me that the handbook is less popular among the medical illustrator’s community. Although the subject matter is slightly different, much of the techniques and business aspects are very similar. If you are a medical illustrator who hasn’t checked out this book yet, I encourage you to do so as well. The Guild Handbook of Scientific Illustration, edited by Elaine R. S. Hodges, is available on Amazon.com for $140.

Leave a Reply

 
