Revealed

A blog about scientific and medical visualization and all that’s involved.

Archive for June 27th, 2008

Student Works: Jen Wong

Posted by Janet on June 27, 2008

Jen Wong is a junior (starting this fall) illustration student at the Rhode Island School of Design. I enjoy her unique style very much. She is meticulous with details but still captures motion in her drawings–something not easily done together.

“I’ve always been very interested in art, and have also been into extremely detail-oriented illustrations, so for many years I thought that scientific/medical illustration would be perfect for me. Now I’m thinking about getting into book work, and especially children’s books, but I still enjoy drawing from nature.”

Here are a few examples of Jen’s drawings:

When asked about how she creates such drawings, she says:
“I like to draw from life as much as possible (as opposed to drawing from a photo) so I frequent RISD’s wonderful nature lab. I usually start by sitting down with a specimen and begin drawing from one obvious part (usually the eyes) and just go from there. I like to just work from what I see, using a thin ball-point pen or pencil, or sometimes a rapidograph. All these pieces were just done on my own time, with the exception of the 50 series sample [below].”

“The set of nine one-inch-by-one-inch insect drawings are only a part of a larger 50 series done for a freshman drawing class. I got to explore ten different insect specimens that I obtained from the nature lab by doing five close studies of each. The drawings are to scale, and very small (my drawing teacher had me bring him a magnifying glass).”

Posted in pen and ink/line, student works gallery, zoological | Tagged: , , , , , | 1 Comment »