Revealed

A blog about scientific and medical visualization and all that’s involved.

AMI Day 1

Posted by Janet on July 16, 2008

It’s Wednesday morning and a day full of workshops. Since it’s my first meeting, I attended the four hour morning “First Timer’s” session. This session was presented by two Hopkins graduates Emily Shaw and Megan Bluhm Foldenauer and focused on “networking.” To start, everyone introduced themselves and said something quirky about themselves–and there were some pretty unusual answers 🙂

The bulk of the talk was by the keynote speaker Jim Perkins, Associate Professor of the Medical Illustration Program at Rochester Institute of Technology. Jim talked about his evolution into a medical illustrator as well as how his style evolved. I was amazed at how much we had in common in terms of motivation, I even found myself relating to the ups and downs of being in this field he experienced. In all it gave me confidence of being able to succeed in this field in the long run.

Since I didn’t sign up for any other workshops, I was free until the evening salon opening reception. The artworks were posted along the hallway, with professional works on the first floor and student works on the second.

Above: The salon exhibit, “Professional Instructional Color” category.


Above: The opening reception. You can see reflections of the exhibit out the window.

(By the way if you show up in any of my photos and don’t want to be seen, let me know and I’ll either replace the photo or Photoshop you out)

The salon is on display throughout the week. One of the more unusual ones was an anatomically correct tattoo design of a window into the forearm. The tattoo was designed for a belly dancer who was fascinated by anatomy. I was amazed by the quality of student works on the second floor–many of them would fit right into the professional section.

One thing to note is that the interactive and 3D categories of the salon is in a separate room and very easy to miss. I walked past the room 5 times today and had no idea I was supposed to walk in. I hear it’s in the same area as rooms 132 and 137 where some of the sessions take place.

Leave a Reply

 
